Haldol (Haloperidol) Review



HaldolReviews

people have reviewed this drug
2 Stars
Review this Drug

Tips for Good Reviews

SHOW:
5 Stars
Posted 1 months ago (10/23/2018)

RatedHaldolfor Acute PsychosisReport

I think the key is to take low doses of this drug. I take only 5mg and its perfect. Enough to take the edge off of my symptoms but with virtually no side effects except for some sleepiness. For whatever reason I tolerate the older drugs best. The newer ones make me feel very ill and i'm very likely to stop it.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 7 months ago (4/16/2018)

RatedHaldolfor Schizoaffective disorderReport

Medicine works great for me. I am on 5mg twice a day and the only side effect that I have had is drowsiness.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 23 months ago (12/22/2016)

RatedHaldolfor SchizophreniaReport

I was put on Haldol after trying several atypicals: Abilify (no effect), Risperdal (high blood pressure/ heart arrhythmia), and Geodon (panic attacks/ nightmares). I'm so glad I was switched. The difference has been night and day. I have noticed some side effects (slight tremor/ restlessness) but nothing serious. This works much better for me than the newer medications. I will definitely be sticking with Haldol.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 32 months ago (4/1/2016)

RatedHaldolfor Nausea/VomitingReport

I have scoliosis and am also diagnosed with HIV. This halperidol is the worst medication and is prescribed misproperly by doctors who just want to keep a job. I have allergies to this medication (similar to people with peanut butter allergies), and major side effects. For example my neck getting stuck sideways with my head slanted, very painful and last for hours till you do something about it otherwise doesn't go away, and happens for days among weeks after every time. Nobody cared. Instead they would force me to take it.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 38 months ago (9/20/2015)

RatedHaldolfor Bipolar I disorderReport

I have Bipolar 1 Disorder (Mixed Episodes) with agitation and this med helps me out a lot! I am on 5mg at bedtime and this med makes me feel mellowed out and calm. Just what I need. The only side effects I have is a little drowsiness and I shake a little but nothing I cant handle.

Report
3.5 Stars
Posted 77 months ago (7/1/2012)

RatedHaldolfor PsychosisReport

The voices that was making my son a living hell has went down. I really worry about using this med but my son(16yrs) has no choice. The only problem that I see is the sleeping...it's too much.

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 113 months ago (6/17/2009)

RatedHaldolfor Bipolar I disorderReport

So far i believe the first to like this drug to treat bipolar I. I am in the beginning of the dosage, but have had no side effects, well one, but to me i dont consider it a bad thing. I havent been as hungry and losing weight, after being on lithium and gaining, this comes as a welcome side effect. I pay out of pocket and it was at Wal Mart, so far has mellowed me out. Not at the best dosage yet, but will get there and hoping it continues to do its job the way it currently it. Everyone needs to remember that every drug works differently for each, dont count this one out because of the other neg, it may work for you as it is for me.

Report
0.5 Stars
Posted 118 months ago (1/27/2009)

RatedHaldolfor Bipolar I disorderReport

My boyfriend was on this for 3 days while in the hospital with no info on this drug. The doctor sent him home. The next night we thought he was having a stroke. I took him to the E.R. He went through terrible pain and all kinds of tests. They were going to keep him overnight.Luckily, at the last moment the doctor realized he had been on Haldol and saw it was a reaction no one took the time to ever make us aware of side affects. I hope no one ever goes through the pain he did!!!!

Report
0.5 Stars
Posted 118 months ago (1/27/2009)

RatedHaldolfor Bipolar I disorderReport

My boyfriend was on this for 3 days while in the hospital with no info on this drug. The doctor sent him home. The next night we thought he was having a stroke. I took him to the E.R. He went through terrible pain and all kinds of tests. They were going to keep him overnight.Luckily, at the last moment the doctor realized he had been on Haldol and saw it was a reaction no one took the time to ever make us aware of side affects. I hope no one ever goes through the pain he did!!!!

Report
1 Stars
Posted 139 months ago (5/3/2007)

RatedHaldolfor PsychosisReport

I was placed on Haldol in 2005 originally. I was suppose to take 20mg @ bedtime due to my being diagnose with psychosis. Haldol put me in almost a comatose state and although I was trying to follow the doctor's orders, I could not stay on Haldol and function properly. My body becomes rigid and I become extremely irritable, almost to the point where I can't stand myself, and once the side-effects wear off, the symptoms I started out with was still there. I will say that I was later diagnose with something else. So maybe that's why it didn't work for me. As of early 2006, I no longer take this medicine and I am happier without it.

Report
3.5 Stars
Posted 140 months ago (4/3/2007)

RatedHaldolfor Bipolar Disorder NOSReport

With Age comes stability, at least for meds. I have Type 1 diabetes, and most drugs interfere with my being able to exercise, think or function at all. I took Haloperidol as a backup drug in case of very bad rapid-cycling bipolar, and later just for rampant fear and ptsd too. It has some awful side effects, like making me dizzy, but helped get me calmed down and back to a more reasonable sleep schedule. It also dried up my skin, screwed up my vision, and gave me headaches, and necessitated my taking high amounts of caffeine initially and water constantly. But my BG's only occasionaly rose or dropped really badly, as compared to other drugs which constantly messed with it, making me much worse. It also has a good effect at making benzodiazepenes work much more potently. I am grateful for this side effect when I can't come down, or have been harassed or am having problems with people. It also gave me long-term the feeling things might work out, which no other drug ever has. Cheap too-Walmart 4$!

Report
3.5 Stars
Posted 140 months ago (4/3/2007)

RatedHaldolfor Bipolar I disorderReport

With Age comes stability, at least for meds. I have Type 1 diabetes, and most drugs interfere with my being able to exercise, think or function at all. I took Haloperidol as a backup drug in case of very bad rapid-cycling bipolar, and later just for rampant fear and ptsd too. It has some awful side effects, like making me dizzy, but helped get me calmed down and back to a more reasonable sleep schedule. It also dried up my skin, screwed up my vision, and gave me headaches, and necessitated my taking high amounts of caffeine initially and water constantly. But my BG's only occasionaly rose or dropped really badly, as compared to other drugs which constantly messed with it, making me much worse. It also has a good effect at making benzodiazepenes work much more potently. I am grateful for this side effect when I can't come down, or have been harassed or am having problems with people. It also gave me long-term the feeling things might work out, which no other drug ever has. Cheap too-Walmart 4$!

Report
0 Stars
Posted 142 months ago (1/26/2007)

RatedHaldolfor Schizoaffective disorderReport

HALDOL = BECOME A ZOMBI This drug will turn you into a zombi once taken in a intra muscular injection of 200 mg decanoate which is in testing status in humans since such a dose is overdosage and can actually kill you, if not immediately in a few days, unfortunately 8 months have passed since I was injected and the changes my body went thru 9 days after I was injected were feeling numb, unable to talk, walk, move, with both arms up and still, started acne on my face due to liver damage and much more, this drug should actually be banned due to its side effects which are actually direct effects since they occur in almost all cases, more frequently at a dose of 200. mg, the same might happen even at the lowest dose since these drugs are made to turn you into a zombie, like it or not, treatment with haldol and diagnose of a mental disease should be stopped, STOP phsychiatry!

Report
1.5 Stars
Posted 143 months ago (12/7/2006)

RatedHaldolfor Bipolar I disorderReport

Haldol is one of the worst! Hadol has so many bad side effects...it's really an old drug...Trust me there's better,newer ones out there.It didn't really stop my mania for long and it made me feel slow.I wouldn't reccomend it to anyone.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 144 months ago (11/20/2006)

RatedHaldolfor SchizophreniaReport

Hate it but it works I hate Haldol both on principle and because of side effects, even though on 10mg a day I really don't experience any that I know of (possibly because my Abilify and Geodon negate them). When I used to take 30mg I was stiff and my arms were bent and cocked upwards so I felt like I looked like a feeding squirrel. I shuffled along taking tiny steps and felt just terrible inside, like a motor was revving, even though I wanted to lie down in the worst way because my mind was sooo tired. On 15mg and only Geodon, I felt deadened by the Haldol, like I wasn't interested in anything, just as I felt on Prolixin all the years I took it...But now, with Abilify in my system, I feel okay, energetic and interested in life and able to get things done. So the Haldol doesn't really affect me except to work to keep the last of the voices at bay, the cut down any vestige of delusional thinking. So why I still hate Haldol I dunno, but I think it is a doctor's drug, one they push because they like the way it works, and too often they dont care that patients HATE it because it makes them feel horrible. That's why I hate it on principle!

Report
2 Stars
Posted 145 months ago (10/24/2006)

RatedHaldolfor Social phobia (Social anxiety disorder)Report

Needed Cogentin I managed to get myself to the ED before I cracked up like a supernova, and they said "get this down your gob", and although I fought the extreme desire to sleep off because I was busy saving the world, I did eventually get transported to a more suitable facility, when the neck stiffness began. Acute dystonic reaction I think it's called. My head kept flopping over to the side and talking became an effort, but an astute doctor gave me some Cogentin, which rectified the problem within minutes, and that was my experience with Serenace.

Report
2 Stars
Posted 145 months ago (10/24/2006)

RatedHaldolfor Bipolar I disorderReport

Needed Cogentin I managed to get myself to the ED before I cracked up like a supernova, and they said "get this down your gob", and although I fought the extreme desire to sleep off because I was busy saving the world, I did eventually get transported to a more suitable facility, when the neck stiffness began. Acute dystonic reaction I think it's called. My head kept flopping over to the side and talking became an effort, but an astute doctor gave me some Cogentin, which rectified the problem within minutes, and that was my experience with Serenace.

Report
1.5 Stars
Posted 145 months ago (10/21/2006)

RatedHaldolfor Bipolar II disorderReport

Terrible, Geodon much better Yea, Haldol is not a good drug. I took it a few years ago. It made me into a zombie with no feeling or personality, terribly flat, depressed and unhappy. What is the point of being alive like that? I couldn't stand it. It is much better to be happy crazy than to take this med. I am lucky I didn't kill myself because things are much better now.

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 145 months ago (10/19/2006)

RatedHaldolfor SchizophreniaReport

fine as prn I take haloperidol when i feel i need it, about once a week or so. In the past I've taken it 3 times a day and found it to be a very dirty drug, giving me eye rolling, agitation and stiffness at the higher doses (20mg then). Also my periods stopped. A dose of 5mg now and then seems to suit me used with another antipsychotic.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 149 months ago (6/27/2006)

RatedHaldolfor Bipolar I disorderReport

best for my Tourette's no side effects at low dosage

Report

About Drugs A-Z

Drugs A-Z provides drug information from Everyday Health and our partners, as well as ratings from our members, all in one place. Cerner Multum™ provides the data within some of the Basics, Side Effects, Interactions, and Dosage tabs. The information within the Reviews and FAQ tabs is proprietary to Everyday Health.

You can browse Drugs A-Z for a specific prescription or over-the-counter drug or look up drugs based on your specific condition. This information is for educational purposes only, and not meant to provide medical advice, treatment, or diagnosis. Remember to always consult your physician or health care provider before starting, stopping, or altering a treatment or health care regimen.

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information provided by on this page is accurate, up-to-date, and complete, but no guarantee is made to that effect. Drug information contained herein may be time sensitive. The information on this page has been compiled for use by healthcare practitioners and consumers in the United States and therefore neither Everyday Health or its licensor warrant that uses outside of the United States are appropriate, unless specifically indicated otherwise. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensors endorse drugs, diagnose patients or recommend therapy. The drug information above is an informational resource designed to assist licensed healthcare practitioners in caring for their patients and/or to serve consumers viewing this service as a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise, skill, knowledge and judgment of healthcare practitioners. The absence of a warning for a given drug or drug combination in no way should be construed to indicate that the drug or combination is safe, effective or appropriate for any given patient. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensor assume any responsibility for any aspect of healthcare administered with the aid of the information provided. The information contained herein is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, drug interactions, allergic reactions, or adverse effects. If you have any questions about the drugs you are taking, check with your doctor, nurse or pharmacist.






Video: What Is The Drug Haldol Used For

Haldol Reviews
Haldol Reviews images

2019 year
2019 year - Haldol Reviews pictures

Haldol Reviews advise
Haldol Reviews advise photo

Haldol Reviews foto
Haldol Reviews pictures

Haldol Reviews Haldol Reviews new pics
Haldol Reviews new foto

photo Haldol Reviews
photo Haldol Reviews

Watch Haldol Reviews video
Watch Haldol Reviews video

Communication on this topic: Haldol Reviews, haldol-reviews/
Communication on this topic: Haldol Reviews, haldol-reviews/ , haldol-reviews/

Related News


7 Best HEPA Air Purifiers to Allergy-Proof Your Home
How to Make Cheese Toast
Successful women on how to get offline and network like a pro IRL
How to Use Banana Peels
From Jennifer Aniston To Angelina Jolie: 8 Looks You Need To See From The Critics’ Choice Awards 2015
How to Recycle a Glass Coffee Jar
Prince William and Kate Middleton Attended the 2019 BAFTA Awards
How to Make a Healthy Banana Split
Paleo Triple-Layer Matcha and Coconut Cheesecake
I Ended My Toxic Relationship, Overhauled My Diet, and Lost 65 Pounds
How to Stay Christian in College
Kefir: What It Is 10 Benefits How To Prepare
How To Pick Perfect Produce Every Time
Thanks for Showing Us How to Wear This Confusing Trend, Zara



Date: 06.12.2018, 17:04 / Views: 43593


Back to Top